Nine MLAs take oath of office in Tamil Nadu

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

Chennai, May 24 (IANS) Nine newly-elected MLAs of Tamil Nadu took the oath of office at the state Secretariat on Monday.

Speaker M. Appavu administered the oath of office to these legislators.

The MLAs include ministers S.S. Sivashankar and M. Mathiventhan, who were elected from Kunnam and Rasipuram, respectively. Both the ministers were infected with Covid-19 and hence were not able to take the oath of office on May 11.

The other MLAs who took oath of office included S. Gandhirajan (Vedasundar), E. Subbaya (Ambasamudram), M. Varalakshmi (Chengalpet) and A.G. Venkitachalam( Anthiyur).

Former minister’s in the AIADMK government, Kadambur C. Raju (Kovilpatti), C. Vijayabhaskar (Viralimalai) and R. Vatihilingam (Orathanad) also took oath.

Chief Minister M.K. Stalin and Water Resources Minister S. Duraimurugan were also present during the oath taking ceremony.